Keeping code organized

So I'm a newbie arduino programmer, but I'm slowly learning thanks to much of the information here.

I've done many of the tutorial sketches and understand 90+% of what's going on in all of them. I'm working on a couple home-brewed projects now, and trying to keep everything organized is becoming very difficult.

For example, one of my first projects is to build a bbq pit controller that will read a temperature from two k-type thermocouples, display the output on a 4 row LCD, and control a 12v fan based on a user defined temperature setting. Each of these things is fairly simple to accomplish - where I'm having problems is combining these sketches. I've read a bunch but don't completely understand the best way to do this.

Can anyone point me to a good resource that won't confuse me more?

Im no expert but try breaking down each particular job into a seperate function and call them from the main loop depending on the inputs you have.

So for example you have your temp sensors so I would do it like this (not real code, but you might get the idea)

int tempData = 0; //use this as a global varible that can be changed through your sketch 
int fanTemp = 120; //your kick limit as to when your fan kicks in

void getTempData() {

tempData = digitalRead(pin, data) //Not sure how you get the data but I guess its like this?

}

void toggleFan() {

if (tempData == fanTemp) { //compare the two if they're the same - turn on fan.

digitalWrite(fan, HIGH)

else {  //if they're not the same - turn off fan.
digitalWrite(fan, LOW) 
}

}

void loop() {

getTempData() //this will just keep running the above function just to grab data from your sensors 
                     //and stick the results into the variables (tempData & fanTemp)

toggleFan() //again it will just keep checking the two values 

lcd.print(tempData) //just print the temp data onto the lcd

}

Its not very brilliant but it'd work.

http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Tutorial/Merging_Code.html