Keeping my message displayed on the LCD after switch is released.

What I am trying to do is when I preset a momentary switch I want a MIDI command sent, an led turn on and all other LEDs to turn off and for it to display a message with button was pressed and keep that message displayed unit another button is pressed . I have the code working all but keeping the message of which button was pressed on the LCD screen after I release the button the message disappears. I understand the way I have it written the message will go away when I release the button. I am totally new at this and I am sure the code could look better or be written better but I understand it this way. So any help will be greatly appreciated. The whole project is going to be a 4 button MIDI foot controller for a Peavey Vypyr amp to just change between Bank A’s for presets which are 1 2 3 and 4 at the moment I have only setup 3. The LEDS on the pedal do tell me what preset is being used but I would like to actually have a display working so when I glance down I can see it as well. Like I said the program work with the amp like it should just having issue with the LCD part.

Here is my code.

#include <MIDI.h>
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 7, 8, 9, 10);
const int BT1 = 2; // This is preset button 1
const int BT2 = 3; // This is preset button 2
const int BT3 = 4; // This is preset button 3
const int LED1 = 5; // This is LED for preset 1
const int LED2 = 6; // This is LED for preset 2
const int LED3 = 13; // This is LED for preset 3

void setup() {
pinMode (BT1, INPUT_PULLUP); //using internal pull down 10k resister to set BT1 to a high and as an input
pinMode (BT2, INPUT_PULLUP); //using internal pull down 10k resister to set BT2 to a high and as an input
pinMode (BT3, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(LED1, OUTPUT); // Making LED1 pin 12 as an output
pinMode(LED2, OUTPUT); // Making LED2 pin 12 as an output
pinMode(LED3, OUTPUT);