Keyboard Emulator

Hey Gang

I am relatively new to Arduino. I am wanting to create a keyboard emulator. I have done much searching including purchasing a number of books but it is proving to be rather difficult. I’d like to simply start by writing something like “Hello world!”. From what little I do understand using PS2 is much more simple than USB. I have downloaded the PS2Keyboard Library and have got as far as the following;

#include <PS2Keyboard.h>
#define DATA_PIN 4
PS2Keyboard keyboard;

void setup()
{
  keyboard.begin(DATA_PIN);
}

void loop()
{

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Jason

I am wanting to create a keyboard emulator.

For what purpose? Your request is like saying "I want to build a rocket." If the rocket is just supposed to look like a rocket, for an art exhibit for instance, the design criteria will be quite a bit different than the design criteria for a rocket that is to launch humans into space for a flight to Mars.

The PS2 keyboard library is for connecting a PS2 library to the Arduino. Is that what you want to do? What do you expect to do with whatever is typed on the keyboard?

Details, details, details... The more you provide, the better the answers you'll get.

I think you are using the wrong library. The PS2Keyboard library is for getting keystrokes from a PS2 keyboard attached to the Arduino.

There is a PS2Dev library that allows you to emulate a PS2 device such as a mouse or keyboard. You can find it at the bottom of this page:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/ComponentLib/Ps2mouse

Hey Gang

Thanks for the replies. I want the Arduino to be the device and the computer to be the host. I want to receive input via the interrupts (magnetic swipe) and send the result into Excel.

I have tried using the PSDev library but the sample file is written to use a mouse. I admit, it is a little above my head too. If I could see a keyboard example I believe I could manipulate it to what I want (well at least try ;) ).