Keypad Delay

Hi all,

I am new to Arduino, currently trying to input keypad number into the serial monitor. However, there has been suspected delay whenever a keypad number is physically pressed.

Could anyone kindly please look at these codes and determine if there has been a delay somewhere?

Much much appreciated!

*/
Keypad Printing
*/

{
char keypressed = kpd.getKey();
if (keypressed != NO_KEY)
{
Serial.println(keypressed);
}

// for PC input at Serial Monitor
if (Serial.available())
{
DoOneTest();
delay(500);

}
lcd.display();
delay(500);

// Button Input
digitalWrite(3, HIGH);
int buttonValue = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (buttonValue == HIGH) {
lcd.clear();
DoOneTest();
delay(500);

}
digitalWrite(3, LOW);
delay(500);

// Print a message to the LCD.
for (int j = 0; j <= 1; j++)
{
lcd.setCursor(0,j);
lcd.print(“Q”);
lcd.setCursor(1,j);
lcd.print(j);

delay(500);
}
}

there has been suspected delay whenever a keypad number is physically pressed.

Could that be due to the delay()s in the program ?

Part of your code has been turned into italics in your post because you did not use code tags.

Please read this before posting a programming question and follow the advice given

I have tried removing the delay()s. However, it has continuously print something else that it was designed to print initially.

//If key is pressed, this key is stored in 'keypressed' variable
//If key is not equal to 'NO_KEY', then this key is printed out
void loop()
{

{ 
     }

// for PC input at Serial Monitor 
  if (Serial.available())
  {
    DoOneTest();
    delay(500);

}
  lcd.display();
  delay(500);

// Button Input
digitalWrite(3, HIGH); 
  int buttonValue = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (buttonValue == HIGH) {
    lcd.clear();
    DoOneTest();
    delay(500);

} 
  digitalWrite(3, LOW); 
  delay(500);

// Print a message to the LCD.
for (int j = 0; j <= 1; j++)
{
  lcd.setCursor(0,j);
  lcd.print("Q");
  lcd.setCursor(1,j);
  lcd.print(j);

delay(500);
}
}