keypad door lock override button

I’m quite new to this stuff so I don’t really know that much, but I’ve recently made a servo door lock controlled with a keypad, the keypad is located on the outside of the room so you can enter, but I didn’t think about how to lock/unlock it from the inside of the room, so i want to add a button on the inside of the room as well as the keypad on the outside that can be used to lock and unlock the door but I do not know how to write the code for it.
I’ve attached the code i’m using

Please help, would be greatly appreciated

door_lock.ino (975 Bytes)

wire a button on the inside of the room to pin 2 of your arduino (to trigger an interrupt). You can either wire it so that when the button is pressed, the voltage drops to zero (pin High by default) or to 1 (pin low by default). Ensure you use proper wiring and pull up/down.

At the begining of your sketch declare a

volatile boolean needToUnlockFromInside = false;

in the setup, attach an interrupt function that will get triggered by pressing the button

pinMode(2, INPUT);
attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(2), unlockDoorFromInside, mode); // mode to match your button wiring

then write a function

void unlockDoorFromInside()

which will Debounce (check in the last time this function was called is more than 50ms ago for example, I let you explore how you do this) and if yes, set the

needToUnlockFromInside = true; // button is pressed from the inside, need to unlock

then in the main loop add a piece of code checking that needToUnlockFromInside flag and trigger unlocking if true (and don't forget to also reset the flag to false once done)

you could improve your code a bit to accept variable length password by not hardwiring the 3 and use instead of

if (position == 3)

with something like

if (position == (sizeof(password) - 1))