Keypad Random Int Generator

Hi guys! I am working on a project which involves using a keypad and having a random int generator. The thing is, occasionally while messing around with the code, like the one I will show, I will only get one int. The int works, but it won’t change. I keep getting the code 364. Please help! Also, I am not the most experienced coder. I am self-taught, so please go easy on me. I am still working on the code right now as well. Here it is:

#include <Keypad.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

const byte ROWS = 4; //four rows
const byte COLS = 3; //three columns
char keys[ROWS][COLS] = {
  {'1', '2', '3'},
  {'4', '5', '6'},
  {'7', '8', '9'},
  {'*', '0', '#'}
};
byte rowPins[ROWS] = {A0, A1, A2, A3}; //connect to the row pinouts of the keypad
byte colPins[COLS] = {A4, A5, 2}; //connect to the column pinouts of the keypad

Keypad keypad = Keypad( makeKeymap(keys), rowPins, colPins, ROWS, COLS );

// 16x2 LCD
#define rs 10
#define en 9
#define d4 6
#define d5 5
#define d6 4
#define d7 3
// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(rs, en, d4, d5, d6, d7);

String password;
String mypassword;

int redled = 12;
int lock = 13;

int counter = 0;
int attempts = 0;
int max_attempts = 3;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows:
  lcd.begin(16, 2);

pinMode(redled, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(lock, OUTPUT);

digitalWrite(redled, LOW);
  digitalWrite(lock, LOW);

Serial.println("enter password");
  lcd.print("Enter Password:");
}

void randpass() {
  password = String(random("1000", "9999"));
}

void loop()
{

if (Serial.read() == '1') {
    Serial.println(password);
    delay(1000);
    Serial.println(password);
  }

randpass();
  keypadfunction();

}

void keypadfunction()
{
  char key = keypad.getKey();

if (key) {
    Serial.println(key);
    counter = counter + 1;
    lcd.setCursor(counter, 1);
    lcd.print("*");
  }
  if (key == '1')
  {

mypassword = mypassword + 1;
  }