Keypresser?

Hi,

I have a computer over which I have no administrator rights and which locks after 5 minutes of inactivity. I want to find or make a device that will simply press a specific key (control or shift) on my keyboard every 1 minute to keep the computer from inadvertently locking. I have been unable to find such a device, so I guess I'll have to make it. Lastly, the device should be AC powered.

I'm guessing that I can use Arduino to accomplish this, but how difficult would it be?

How would you go about solving this problem?

Please advise.

Thanks,

si

Just an Arduino with a servo could do the job I guess :)

Okay, so from your reply it would seem fairly simple.

I see the links you provided, but I am new to Aduirno. How do I get started?

Is there a marketplace for custom Arduino solutions that one can simply contract for? Depending on how much effort it would take to build myself, perhaps I would be better off just paying someone to build it for me.

Thanks,

si

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yk71GY02diY

Yes, thank you for the video. But, according to wikipedia:

"If a glass of water is placed so that the beak dips into it on its descent, the bird will continue to absorb water and the cycle will continue as long as there is enough water in the glass to keep the head wet. However, the bird will continue to dip even without a source of water, as long as the head is wet, or as long as a temperature differential is maintained between the head and body."

I don't know how one would keep the head wet in the situation for which I am seeking a solution. So it doesn't appear that this would be a viable solution unfortunately.

Thanks,

si

I have a computer over which I have no administrator rights and which locks after 5 minutes of inactivity. I want to find or make a device that will simply press a specific key (control or shift) on my keyboard every 1 minute to keep the computer from inadvertently locking.