Kitchen Hood

Dear all,

I'm mechanical engineer with poor knowledge on electronics and programming, but i'm really curious about and would like to learn. I have basic knowledge on arduino.

My project, I think very simple for you, is the following:

I have build my house near Paris and i'm finishing the kitchen. One of my friends gave me a kitchen hood, and I opened it to get the motors and fan to make a custom one, integrated in my custom furniture.

The motor has 5 wire : one for the neutral, and 4 for the 4 speeds levels : high / mid-high / mid-low / low. When you connect the 220V to he high speed wire, you get a high aspiration. Quite easy to understand.

I would like to use a push button to control the hood : one push -> Low speed, another push -> medium speed, etc. And why not a long push to turn it off.

My idea is to use 4 electric relays connected on each wire, and make a program on arduino to control each relay depending on number of push from the push button.

Do you think it is a safe way and a good way to make this ?
Do you have better idea, or advice to make it in a safe way ?
which kind of relay should I use, and is there any advice on how to use and mount it ?

Thanks in advance for your feedbacks,

Best regards,

Dimitri

The safety of this project depends on how you implement both the hardware and software. For instance, what experience do you have of electrical installations at mains voltage ?

There are also potential dangers with the software. For instance, is it safe to connect 2 or more of the speed control wires to 220V ? I know that this is not what you are anticipating but you must consider possible failure modes.

The fact that you need to ask about types of relay and how to use them is worrying. My advice would be to experiment with the principles of your project using an Arduino with the switches and LEDs (used to emulate relays) on a breadboard and not to use mains voltage until the software is thoroughly tested.