Knight Rider lights with button press

Hi all,

I am new with my Arduino One and the programming language C. I am trying to build the knight rider lights with a button. Everytime I press my button, i would like to change the light to the other light. A little example: 7 lights, light number 1 is on. After the button press, light number 1 is off, number 2 is on.

But when I press the button, there is just nothing. (it is a software problem) I have tried a lot of things, but I can’t fix it. Maybe someone can help me a little bit further.

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <util/delay.h>

int main()
{
	UCSR0B = 0;
	DDRD = 0b11111111; // ouput pins

DDRB = 0b00000000;	// input pins

unsigned char upDown=1;	// start going with the ports up
	unsigned char cylon=0;  // says which LED is on

for(;;)
	{
		if (PORTB0)
		{
			if(upDown==1){cylon++;if(cylon>=6) upDown=0;}      // Reached the last LED
			else {cylon--;if(cylon==0) upDown=1;}     // Reached min LED
			PORTD = 1 << cylon;
		}
	}
}

How is your switch wired? Are you having a hardware problem or a software problem?

i would like to change the light to the other light.

I have no idea what this means.

PaulS:
How is your switch wired? Are you having a hardware problem or a software problem?

i would like to change the light to the other light.

I have no idea what this means.

Added a little bit more information in my question.

How is the button wired? Are you using a pull-up or pull-down resistor? Are you sure you are connected to pin 14 of the ATmega328 or pin 8 of the Arduino Uno? How are you preventing button bounce?

Some questions.

1. Is that your whole program ?
  2. What programming environment are you using ?
  3. What is that main() function doing in an Arduino sketch (may be connected to 2 above) ?
  4. Why use an unsigned char ?
  5. Did you put multiple statements on one line to make the program difficult to read ?

But when I press the button, there is just nothing. (it is a software problem)