KVHC100 Compass NMEA to Arduino

OK, I’m a bit of a beginner here so go easy …

I have a fluxgate compass that puts out the vehicle heading in NMEA form (which, I think, is serial) at 1 Hz continuous at 4800 Baud. The sentence output every sec looks like: $HCHDM, abc.d,M*

This message is sent through two wires Data Out (0-5 V) and Ground (there is also a data in and a second data out that goes 5-0 V but I don’t think I need them).

How do I connect this to the Arduino? Can I use the serial TX/RX pins? If so, then what? How do I have the arduino interpret the 0-5V pulses and give me a number (heading) that I can use to provide direction to the vehicle?

I guess I am fuzzy on how the TX/RX pins work and what software/library/? would be used in a sketch to convert the in-signal to a heading variable that I can mess with.

Any help/suggestion/guidance would be most gratefully received.

David

How do I connect this to the Arduino? Can I use the serial TX/RX pins? If so, then what? How do I have the arduino interpret the 0-5V pulses and give me a number (heading) that I can use to provide direction to the vehicle?

You could indeed connect ground to ground and Data out to RX. You might want to look at using NewSoftSerial instead (assuming you don't have an Arduino with multiple hardware serial ports). You'll still need to connect grounds, but data out will have to go to a different pin - whatever you've designated for the soft serial port RX. That way you can read from the compass on the software port and use the hardware one for debugging. As a first step, just read from the compass and send whatever it provides out using Serial commands & view it on the IDE's serial monitor. Worry about parsing the heading out of the NMEA string once you have the first piece working.

You could indeed connect ground to ground and Data out to RX.

...but you may want to check the voltage levels on the serial interface first. Do you have an electrical spec for the serial interface?