L298 H-bridge With 23HS-104 MK2 Stepper motor

Hello This is my first post in this forum. =D

Today I just managed to transform my new L298 from a h-bridge to a toasting machine... In other words I destroyed it.

Link to L298 card: LSON L298N Stepper Motor Driver Module - Red (5~35V) - Free shipping - DealExtreme

I have never tried to control steppers before, and the topic about steppers was a lot to take in for a guy that was a bit to eager to try out my new equipment.

So I just tried to connect my <23HS-104 MK2 2.0A stepper> with the coils in serial... hoped that pulled the least current, to be honest I do not know. maybe I did my mistake here.

I was also a bit to eager to figure out all the code for myself straight away, so I modified some code I found online to fit my purpose.

Is there any obvious fault here??
Or do I need to supply more information?

Motor wiring:
Out1 - RED
Out2 - YELLOW
Out3 - BLACK
Out4 - ORANGE

RED/White to YELLOW/White
ORANGE/White to BLACK/White

INPUT VOLTAGE TO MOTOR 24VDC

The code I used:

#include <Stepper.h>
int clockwise= 6;
int anticlockwise= 7;
int steps =200;
int enable=8;
Stepper motor(steps, 2,3,4,5);

void setup() {
pinMode(clockwise,INPUT);
pinMode(anticlockwise,INPUT);
pinMode(enable,OUTPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
int Speed = analogRead(A0);
int RPM = map(Speed, 0, 1023, 0, 100);
int forward = digitalRead(clockwise);
int reverse = digitalRead(anticlockwise);
digitalWrite(enable,LOW);
if(forward == 1 && reverse == 0 && RPM > 5){
digitalWrite(enable,HIGH);
motor.step(1);
motor.setSpeed(RPM);
delay(10);
}
if(reverse == 1 && forward == 0 && RPM > 5){
digitalWrite(enable,HIGH);
motor.step(-1);
motor.setSpeed(RPM);
delay(10);
}
delay(5);
// Serial.println(“Speed of motor is “);
Serial.print("Motor Speed is: ");
Serial.println(RPM);
}

Best regards
PatrickG

The data on that motor is sketchy - it says 8 wire but doesn't say if the 1.1 ohm rating is