L298n, 24v motor and miss arduino

Hello

As an internet-educated electrician, i have last minute doubts on connecting my linear monitor (24v,2-3A) to the ardunio via l298n. my main doubt is about the connection of the motor supply (24v 7.5A) to the shared ground with the ardunio. which component should i put there to protect miss arduino?

An electrician friend is needed.

Thanks alot, Oori

Hey

they can share a ground, no problem. That is the proper way to do it. If you are concerned about noise that sometimes develops in a mess of ground wires, you can use the "star-grounding" technique. Do some Googling and you will find it: basically all grounds lead to one point. It's a good design approach to do it that way, but probably not a necessity for what you're doing.

For safety you can add a fuse (5A should do it) to the 24V supply. If you're really worried, double check your connections, and try things on a much smaller motor first.

The L298 dual driver is rated 2A per driver, so you will need to be using both drivers to get 4A capacity! They show how to do this on page 7 of the datasheet: pins2 & 14 drive one wire of the motor, while 3 & 13 drive the other wire. You will also really, really, really need a good heatsink on the l298.

D

:)

BTW Arduino is a guy ;)

Thanks.

I also see around people talking about adding (shottkey) fast recovery diode or a capacitor between the motor supply leads. any remarks on that?

Also, about the heat sink, you said: "realy, realy, realy" - so bad?, i mean: something like this: (conrad 188158 - 62) is not enough or with a small pc fan towards the heat sink? or am i far behind on this?

About sexuality and the pcb's recognition of the 'self' - next time...

Thanks alot. Ciao, Oori