Large HVAC controller

Hi,
For my EE senior project next year I want to build an HVAC controller for a system that has about 12 heating zones.
I want to be able to control it with a good looking web interface- things like times when zones are active, temperature setpoints, etc.

I have zero experience with Arduino hardware but i did FIRST robotics in highschool and have a typical EE programming background, so it feels like something I could pick up with a little time.
Right now i’m looking at this hardware:

because it has relays built into it, but I would need to link 2 of those units together to get enough outputs, and its not clear if I could use an ethernet shield with it or not. I’m looking at 1-wire temperature sensors, which would mean all the zone sensors would work off of 1 digital pin, right?
I’d like to know if there’s a better solution for having ~16 relays controlled from one arduino with ethernet control.
I’m also pretty unclear about how ethernet control would work. It looks like the ethernet shield is rudimentary, and I would need to set up a website on a regular apache/php server to get a good looking interface that would have to talk to the arduino somehow, correct?

Are there any good builds similar to this that have good documentation?
thanks for any help

The first thing to consider is what voltage and current you are switching. That will dictate the kind of relay required. The ones on that device are 5A/250V relays. I doubt that's adequate for a 12 zone HVAC system.

Then, the ethernet shield requires 4 pins. 16 relays will require 16 pins. That's 20 of the 20 pins, and uses the Serial pins as I/O pins. You have nothing left for input.

I think that you need a Mega for this project.