Large LCD to display images

I am fairly new to Arduino (not to programming or electronics in general), but I am looking to create a device that will display images (doesn't matter the ultimate format, jpeg, gif, bmp whatever is best) on a large LCD using the Arduino (if possible).

Basically LCD would be color and hopefully 10"+. Resolution isn't as important, but must be legible. 640x480 something like that.

General Purpose is to create a rotating display of announcements without a PC.

Images can be loaded on a memory card and can handle that part.

Mainly has anyone been able to display images using arduino on a large screen?

I see lots of examples on small under 5" screens.

Any thoughts on how I could make this happen on a large screen or what screens would be ideal?

Simply a large digital picture frame.

Thanks, Regulus

This is an excellent start thanks Richard. Now I just need to figure out the rest of it.

I hadn't thought of TV out, definitely an easier solution.

Thanks, Chris

Well, maybe.

It's actually quite difficult to create good looking text displays on TVs. I suspect that it's hard enough that an Arduino doesn't have the horsepower to do it

You probably can do it with a digital monitor and a computer display, although it won't be easy.

You also have memory problems. You need to have memory for the frame buffer (640 x 480 x whatever number of bits per pixel you need) and you need to have a character set memory, which could be read only.

The only really good way this works, assuming that the announcements just flash change from one to the other, is to have a double buffer frame memory, where you write one while you display the other, and flip to the other buffer when you change to the next announcement.

Okay, maybe you understand it, but let's tell the folks at home what we are talking about.