Large LED display driven by an RTC. Appreciate help with what approach to take.

I am working on a project that is ultimately a clock. It's a design, concept type clock. A slightly different take than any I have run across in trying to determine how to go about accomplishing my goal. The clock display will be 72 sections, each one backlit by LEDs(presumably portions of LED strips). Of the 72 sections, 12 will represent the hours, 1-12. The remaining 60 sections will represent the minutes, 00-59. The only sections that will be illuminated at any given time will be the ones that correspond to the current time.

I'm fairly new to the Arduino environment but do have a few smaller projects under my belt, with that being said, I would appreciate any advice on what approach to take to tackle this.

At this point, I am open to any board and peripherals necessary.

Some options that I have been thinking about:

• Using addressable RGB strips, basically making the entire circuit one strip, placing sections of LEDs with the respective numbers and then only illuminating the LEDs that correspond to the time. In this scenario, I would certainly need some help writing code to illuminate the correct sections at the correct times.

• Possibly using LED strips and shift registers? This is not something I know a lot about, was just an idea.

I am open to any suggestions and would be grateful for your input.

Are you using the LED strips to simulate the segments of a 7 segment display?

If so, imply wire one side of each strip to the supply and turn on the segments as required, exactly the same as using small displays.

There would have to be plenty of projects that have used seven segment display for a clock.

Weedpharma