Large Scale (250+ module) Wireless network

Hello. My name is Nic and I am an engineering and physics student at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. I am working on a tiled smart flooring system which requires a wireless module per tile, so as to eliminate the need for physical connections between tiles. I am unfamiliar with wireless networking and am wondering what the best module would be for my application.

Essentially, each tile will have a microcrontroller and wireless transmitter (along with various other electronic components) and will upload activation data to either the internet where the data will be displayed on a webpage, or the data will be forwarded from many secondary tiles to one primary tile which will then upload all of the data to the internet. My near-future installation is planned to be approximately 50 tiles with an expanded installation of 250+ tiles within the next year. I am wondering what wireless module would be ideal for this application: XBee Series 2, WiFly, etc…

From what I understand, the ZigBee protocol would be inefficient for my installation…

Thank you for your help. It is very much appreciated.

-Nic

From what I understand, the ZigBee protocol would be inefficient for my installation…

What is it about the XBee protocol that you feel would be inefficient?

along with various other electronic components

What other components might these be?

and will upload activation data

How much data? How often? How far?

to either the internet where the data will be displayed on a webpage, or the data will be forwarded from many secondary tiles to one primary tile which will then upload all of the data to the internet.