Large Stepper Linear Pot position

Hello!

Im new to Arduino, but I'm interested in seeing if this is possible to use the Arduino to control a large stepper with a linear potentiometer to turn the stepper on until it reaches a predetermined position set in the programming. For example, the arduino powers up, the unit finds "home" by a predetermed position", then precedes to rotate the stepper until it reaches the predetermined setpoint feedback from the pot.

Also would it be possible to change the speed as it reached different values on the pot? For example, (for easyness 1-100), Home is 0, setpoint is 100. Would i be able to slow the stepper at 80 until it reached 100?

Thanks!

Sure, no problem. The bigger the stepper, the bigger the driver...

Thats good to know, I have a DM2722A Driver with a 42HS6480 Stepper.

Is there any direction you could send me in for code using a 10k linear pot for such desires?

I have it wired up and coded using this video:

Ive been looking around and there doesn't seem to be anything on the topic of using a pot as a switch for position.

Thanks for the reply!

WillCNC:
I have it wired up and coded using this video:

Please post the program and tell us in detail what it actually does and what you want it to do that is different. It will make it much easier to focus on the parts you need help with rather than wasting time on things that you can do.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

also look up the AccelStepper library

It's always good practise to set up, code and test each little system. Start reading the pot and make sure You control the happenings. The go for the stepper. Start making the stepper move in a way You understand. After that You can think of joining the two systems.
Buldning a system like this is not like turning pages in the cook book and finding a suitable recipe.