Laser measurment device

Hello everyone.

I am new to Arduino and to this forum.

Basically, I am trying to connect via RS232 Riftek Laser RF605 with Arduino board that will act as a controller. I just need to read a measurement and send the data via serial to another device.

I have a problem with connecting with a laser device. It seems I can not get the “answer” back via serial (rs232).

Between RF605 and Arduinoo i use “translator” MAX3232 device as RS232 has 12V states and TTL (arduino) 5V.

It is a simple device with DB9 plug and GDN, Tx, Rx, Vcc connected to Arduino.

I send a request but no data is coming back. I have checked many side things (cable connections, replaced converter and Arduino board);

Serial1.write(0x01); //send unit id
Serial1.write(0x86); //send request “measure” 01h OR 80h = 86h

This is my request send via serial1 line - but not getting anything open.

I am kind out of ideas for now how to solve that - any help will be appreciated.

As far as I found in documentation

this should return measurment.

Below is full sample code

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial1.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
if (Serial.available() > 0) {
char select = Serial.read(); //sending toDo command to Arduino from other devive
if (select == ‘1’) {
do_measure(); //option 1 means do_measure
}

}
}

void do_measure() {
Serial.println(“Request send”);
if (Serial1.available() > 0) {
Serial.println(“Data recieved:”); // I cant get here - seems no answer is generated.
char recievedByte[4];
for (int pom = 0; pom < sizeof(recievedByte); pom++) {
recievedByte[pom] = Serial1.read();
}
char data1 = (recievedByte[0] & 0x0F) + (recievedByte[1] & 0x0F) << 4;
char data2 = (recievedByte[2] & 0x0F) + (recievedByte[3] & 0x0F) << 4;
uint16_t measure = data1 + (data2 << 8);
Serial.print(measure);
}
}

looking at the data sheet the serial data format is 8E1 (8bit, even parity, 1 stop bit). Arduino default is 8N1 (8bit,no parity, 1 stop bit)