Laser tag (IR guns)

Hi, total noob ::slight_smile: to this but have know about it for a while and have been looking for IR or infared information but cant seem to find anything that suits.

I work with laser tag guns that use IR to “shoot” each other. They cost the earth but as far as i can tell are fairly simple electronically - all analog stuff. Ideally im wanting to create something that can learn the signals from the guns as their is shoot to kill and then a ref gun that resets them to come back alive.

I would very much appreciate if anyone could point me in the right direction.

I did find this so hopefully i can get the signals. http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/InfraredReceivers
Would this work? And could i simply create a standard IR module that could send the signals on again.

Sorry if any of this stupid. Im not great with the whole infrared protocol stuff.

Many thanks

sjk

anyone? anyone at all.

what you want some kind of IR signal record/playback device?

Yes that would be ideal.

not sure how to go about it, but an ir receiver and an ir led and a couple of buttons would probably be ideal :smiley: dunno what resistors to use. as for programming (again im not the best person to ask) some kind of digital read, store, digital write, type thing might be the way to go… it would store one signal at a time tho, a bit like a copy/paste buffer (clipboard).

thats the theory anyway. i dunno how to program it tho :S and my wiring up of the ting would be a hazardous guess :smiley:

a pin for the rec button, a pin for the tx button, and another couple of pins for the ir rx and tx emitter and receiver, there would probably have to be a resitor in line for the ir tx led tho.

sorry i cant be any more help, if this is any help that is :smiley:

thanks muchly. at least i know have an idea of parts and terms to google.

much appreciated.

sjk

I typed this all out on my iPhone this morning only to have the browser quit. :stuck_out_tongue: