Laser tripwire with timer between triggerings

Is this project possible?

Its to time the dogs in our flyball team (youtube it to see what this is). I have the R3 board along with all manner of sensors and components and am about to make a start when I get a few quiet days.

I do not need the code or anything else done, I am a programmer in .net and c# already and just want to build something for the team over the winter :wink:

I'd say it's possible and not that difficult to build. Just take care to get the right laser beams (buy locally and not in China then the probability to get a safe one is much higher), otherwise your dogs (and even team members) may get blind very fast. The power should be relatively low and it should be pulsed to keep the energy that may enter the eye as low as possible.

Easy project for an experienced developer - even when you're new to microcontrollers.

You may want to use two lasers to also distinguish the direction the dogs are running, as well as the speed :wink:

Regards from another C# developer :slight_smile:

Thanks both, knowing it can be done is the major thing here as I do not want to spend months attempting the impossible, and yes, I am really new to R3 coding having only just bought the microcontrollers.

Extensive flyball thread here http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=280661.0

cattledog:
Extensive flyball thread here http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=280661.0

Wow thanks, it always happens that nothing is never new, its all been done before :wink:

Get rid of the laser. You don't need the laser.

Set up a detector with a restricted view and you have your straight line beam from an ordinary led.
Get an IR detector and you can see how well a red led sets them off too, see what color let red led shows in a webcam... white!