Latching Solenoid Arduino

I'm trying to build an irrigation controller with the Arduino that runs off of a battery. I'm a software engineer, but an EE noob. I found the following latching solenoid valve that seems to be a good start.

http://galconc.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/B762-01.pdf

I think I need a capacitor to provide enough power to latch/unlatch the solenoid, but I'm at a loss as to what else I would need to complete the circuit. Can anyone provide some guidance? I will be powering both the Arduino and valve via battery. Here are the specs for the solenoid valve.

GCS3051 two wire solenoid
6-18 VDC pulse (latch) depending on condenser.
Resistance: 3Ω.

Electrical data:
Required length of pulse: 20-100 milliseconds.

Electrical connections:
80 cm. PVC cable, 24 AWG

The 2-wire version is going to need 6-18V applied in both positive and negative directions. You need an H-bridge. Otherwise known as a brushed DC motor controller. There's a wide range of controllers with the 4A capacity you need. I would not bother with the capacitor if your battery can deliver that current.

For best efficiency on battery, I would choose a MOSFET based driver, not the older style LM293 motor drivers.

Which Arduino? Which battery?

Thanks for the response! I planned on using the a 9V battery along with the Adafruit Feather M0 board that includes WiFi; however, I've also considered a larger board (5V output), and possibly a 12V battery. I'll be running other sensors from this board.

I think based on your feedback the following motor controller would work with the 9V battery-

I looked at the technical sheet and it does use MOSFET drivers (http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/drv8871.pdf)