LCD 1602 have backlight and boxes but not displaying anything from sketches

Hi to all,

Trying to connect a mega 2650 to a 1602 lcd display without success.

Using I2C address of 0x27 and port speed 9600 which is correct for my display. connected SCA to pin a5 and SDA to pin a4

Library is Adafruit_FRAM_I2C and sketch "Hello World"

Have adjusted backlight so can see pixel squares but when I compile and upload, compiles no problem,get message "done compiling" tx and rx lights on arduino cease flashing but all I can get on the display are the pixel squares.

I am a complete newbie and completely stuck, Anyone and ideas please, please, please.

Thanks in advance

Keith

I suggest tweaking the contrast a little more. I was sure mine was broken, but I finally adjusted contrast /after/ sketch uploaded, hello world finally appeared.

Thanks for the reply.

Yes tried that from stop to stop, still nothing.

Also tried a different 1602 and I2C and a 2004 all give same result i.e. pixels but no characters.

Keith

Check the Wire reference page- the Mega uses different pins for I2C.

different manufacturers use different base addresses for the display. 3 of mine use 0x38, one uses 0x27. find an I2C address scanner and stick it in a utilities folder in your sketchbook

connected SCA to pin a5 and SDA to pin a4

BJHenry has a valid point. On the Mega SDA is pin 20, SCL is pin 21. Or on the header where pins 8-13 are the order is 12, 13, Ground, Aref, SDA, SCL. SCL nearest to the USB connector.

and port speed 9600 which is correct for my display

Serial baud rate has nothing to do with an I2C LCD.

An I2C scanner:

// I2C scanner by Nick Gammon.  Thanks Nick.

#include <Wire.h>

void setup() {
  Serial.begin (115200); //*****  make sure serial monitor baud matches *****

// Leonardo: wait for serial port to connect
  while (!Serial) 
    {
    }

Serial.println ();
  Serial.println ("I2C scanner. Scanning ...");
  byte count = 0;

Wire.begin();
  for (byte i = 1; i < 120; i++)