LCD 16x2 with I2C backpack help - display goes crazy, garbage (SOLVED)

I am not a newbie. I have programmed a lot of controllers, modules, etc. However I seem to be confounded by the use of the I2C backpack and standard 16x2 display.

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/e11051.m43.l1123/7?euid=6418c6919db84c0eaab9c8fe344a7bb1&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dll%3FViewItem%26item%3D310708921284%26ssPageName%3DADME%3AX%3ARTQ%3AUS%3A1123

I have two of the above, and recently bought one that is soldered to the display. When I connect the display without the I2C backpack it works great. I can use the I2C backpack with the Raspberry Pi, no issues (took some doing). However all three displays (that work) combined with the I2C backpack result in garbage display, flickering backlight, and nothing as expected.

I am using the attached library. I have compiled to Uno, Nano, Mini-pro, even using INO on my Raspi. Same result. i have worked with 1.0.5, 1.5.5 and 1.5.8 on a Mac, and again, same. Blinking backlight, etc. I have verified that the I2C address (and the only one that responds). I even used 4.7 (2.2K+2.2K) resistors to bring SDA and SDL up to VCC.

it must be something trivial I am missing and I am not sure what. I have gotten this to work before but with similar difficulty. I have spent 3 days debugging and no luck. any help would be appreciated.
Frustrated …

the current config is Uno + I2C backpack soldered to LCD. using 5V and GND + SDA pin A4 and SDL pin 5. I am using INO on Raspberry PI with clean install. i have tested the I2C with the LCD and python script and it works fine. However not with the Arudino 1.0.5+ INO currently.

pi@raspberrypi ~/pilcd $ gpio i2cd
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 27 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --