LCD display in gauge.. hack screen, or hack STM32??

Hi. I have been searching long and hard for an LCD or OLED inside a guage, that I could use with my nearly finished datalogger project.

I have come up with this: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/AUTOOL-X60-OBD-METER-OBD-2-HUD-Digital-Temperature-Gauge-Digital-Voltage-Speed-Meter-Display-Meter/32855225299.html

It is actually an OBD code reader / monitor thing, with display etc.

I have just ordered one to have a look at.

It has a 72MHz ARM processor in it, so I am assuming it may well be an STM32 of some kind.

Now… given that I am new to arduino, do you think I should set about trying to interface with the LCD on there… identify the driver chip, and use an SPI connection to my Arduino?

Or should I look to see if I can get STM32duino code onto the STM32 chip in there, and run it as its own device, and communicate over whatever I/O that device has? (UART, CAN) between itself and my Arduino?

What route would you go down? I want to display readings on there, but also a menu interface as well, for things like format sd card, set auto-logging on power-on, etc.

Capture.PNG

s-l1600.jpg

That device is expensive enough with shipping that it's probably worth designing your own 3D printed case around your choice of display + microcontroller. Who knows what you'll find inside that device. It may be a black blob of epoxy on top of a microcontroller with no access to reflash the program.

bitbank:
That device is expensive enough with shipping that it's probably worth designing your own 3D printed case around your choice of display + microcontroller. Who knows what you'll find inside that device. It may be a black blob of epoxy on top of a microcontroller with no access to reflash the program.

It's less than 22 quid including delivery, from eBay sellers. That to me is a bargain. It's not far off what a basic needle gauge starts at.