LCD display via I2C - Help me!

Hi,

I am new with Arduino and electronic too. I want to connect to my Arduino an alphanumeric LCD display via I2C Bus.

Do you have any schema (circuit) how should I connect it, which controller (driver) should I use. I was thinking about PCF7584 but I do not know...

So if you could help me... Some examples of code, how to send words to lcd would be great too.

Thanks for your help!

want to connect to my Arduino an alphanumeric LCD display via I2C Bus.

Why? :-/

But if you must then just follow the same process as normal but channel all the commands through the I2C mechanism.

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/LCD

want to connect to my Arduino an alphanumeric LCD display via I2C Bus.

Why? :-/

With I2C I need only two wires!
I want to buy 16x2 LCD display (without I2C) and some chip (I2C controller).
So it is cheaper.
But I need Know-how.

But most LCD can be controlled with 5 wires and much more convieantly. If you are short of pins then use the I2C for some of those other pin functions that don't change so often. Any way the link shows how to do both.

I've used a couple of these I2C LCD Controllers. They are full featured and relatively inexpensive*. Basically it's just a PIC with a customer firmware that emulates a LCD controller.

• I have no relationship to the maker - I'm just a satisfied customer.

I've used a couple of these I2C LCD Controllers. They are full featured and relatively inexpensive*. Basically it's just a PIC with a customer firmware that emulates a LCD controller.

It looks nice, could you please show me a piece of code you are using with. Do you use some library with it?

It looks nice, could you please show me a piece of code you are using with. Do you use some library with it?