LCD: Getting rid of old numbers when a value drops

Hi there. I'm new to the Arduino and electronics in general. When I loop a variable to be printed on my LCD, it works until the value decreases in numbers. Instead of goin from 100 to 99, it goes to 990. My question is: What's the most efficient way to fix this? Also, how do I make it expand to the left instead?

Thank you for your time :) -EB

Simplest way is to print 3 spaces after it!

lcd.print(number) ; lcd.print(" ") ;

You could use sprintf to print the value to a string (with a fixed width), and then print the string, instead.

char buffer[10];
sprintf(buffer, "%4d", intVal);

The default is right justification, so for intVal = 1, 10, 100, and 1000, the string in buffer would look like: ___1 __10 _100 1000 (Where the _ represents a space)

PaulS, You really are a mind full of useful info. I will try to remember that. :)

Mowcius

You really are a mind full of useful info.

Useless, too. But I keep that to myself. ;D

PaulS. That's interesting, but doesn't work for me. I did replace intVal with my own int variable, but I only get a blank on the display. Have you tried this yourself? Also, do you think you could explain the sprintf function a little? Searching didn't help me. I know modulo, but what's 4d? Thanks!

I would have printed blanks over the old number first and then printed the new numeric value, but PaulS's solution looks good.

I would have printed blanks over the old number first and then printed the new numeric value, but PaulS's solution looks good.

Well I'd normally work out how big the value is and print corresponding blanks.

If you just print over the whole number the the max refresh of the number slows down.

Mowcius

but what's 4d

Print as 4 decimal digits.

% is not modulo in this case, it's a meta character that flags the following format string.