LCD Port Manipulation Problem

Hi All,

This is my first time posting to the forum, I apologize in advance if I mess up any rules/norms/formatting.

I emphasized in embedded systems during undergrad, but have been working as an analog engineer since graduating. I am pretty rusty and would like to get back to digital design. I figured before buying a PIC or ST32 and diving headfirst back into assembly, it would be easier and quicker to work with what I already have...an Arduino Uno, an HD44780 LCD, plus some various other components.

I am trying to refresh/challenge myself by using port manipulation and staying away from libraries, but I am stuck just trying to get the LCD set up. I was able to program the LiquidCrystal.h "Hello World!" code onto my Arduino+LCD no problem so I am confident that my circuit is correct. I adjusted the contrast so the example text was clearly visible. It must be an issue with my code or understanding of how to initialize the LCD.

I expected my code below to set up the LCD in 4-bit mode, 2 lines, 5x7 dots, display on, cursor on, blink on, print the character 'A' and auto increment the blinking cursor to the right. However, the LCD screen remains blank without even a single flicker. I thought it might be an issue with not delaying long enough but it doesn't seem to matter how long I set each of the delays. I confirmed the minimum timing requirements with the LCD datasheet and made sure to leave plenty of headroom in the delays used. I used a series of "Serial.println(PORTD, HEX)" statements throughout each of the functions to confirm PORTD was behaving as expected. I did the same for the bytes "lowerNibble" and "upperNibble" and the logic seems to be fine.

Does anyone have any ideas what I could be doing wrong with my code?

Circuit Diagram and Arduino code file are attached.

Thank you!

Adam

System: Arduino Uno connected to MacBook Pro 16" 2019 running OSX 10.15.17 using an HD44780 LCD screen.

LCD Circuit.png

LCD Circuit.png