lcd.print scope declaration issue in .h files

Hello everyone, I am a newbie with the arduino / c++ language.
I’m trying to understand a bit more about working and interacting with multiple files.
The purpose of the code is to run a function in the main sketch form a separate file, the function will print a message to my LCD.
I have tested the code in serial monitor and worked fine, but when I use lcd.print I get an error.
“functions.cpp error: ‘lcd’ was not declared in this scope”

This is my code so far:
“functions.h” code:

#ifndef FUNCTIONS_H
#define FUNCTIONS_H

class fclass {
    public:
      fclass();
      void FUNCTION1();
      void FUNCTION2();
      void FUNCTION3();
};

extern fclass start;

#endif

“functions.cpp” code:
(I have commented out fclass::FUNCTION1 with the lcd.print command.)

#include "Arduino.h"
#include "functions.h"

fclass::fclass(){ }

void fclass::FUNCTION1() { Serial.println("Test 1"); }

//void fclass::FUNCTION1() { lcd.println("Test 1"); }

void fclass::FUNCTION2() { Serial.println("Test 2"); }

void fclass::FUNCTION3() { Serial.println("Test 3"); }

fclass start = fclass();

This is my main code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>               // my lcd library.
#include "functions.h"                   // my header file.
LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);     // lcd pins config.

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);           // Begin serial.
  lcd.begin(16, 2);             // Begin my lcd 16x2.
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Message: ");     // Default message.
}

void loop() {
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);           // Print function output on row 1.
  start.FUNCTION1();            // Loop function 1.
}

I have read http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/LibraryTutorial, but I did not find any examples used with lcd.print.
Can someone give me some advice on this issue?

I appreciate all help.

Thanks!!

Can someone give me some advice on this issue?