LCD problem(different from all the others)

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting here because I really can't solve this LCD problem. I have read many other topics on here but I can't find an answer to my problem. So here it goes, like many others my lcd is not working. I followed many tutorials and I'm 100000% sure that the problem is not in wiring or in the code. I know that for sure because the LCD used to work, I got it running and it showed all I wanted it to. The problem started when I didnt use it for about a week, I came back to show it to a friend and the LCD showed 2 rows of white squares(not one like in other posts). The connections are all soldered and they are all in the right places(see pics), the pins are pushed in the breadboard all the way, same for the arduino pins(all triple checked), Im also using a 10k pot wired the right way, checked 10 times (tried with a 2k too and it worked at first, but it stopped too). The lcd always sits in the garage at 70 degrees, so I doubt its weather related. The power source is my laptop(i also added an extra 220 ohm resistor like it says in the tutorial). After trying to fix the LED(I switched laptop batteries, tried a 9v, tried a 12v, tried different wiring and different wires, tired without pot) I finally tried the LCD tutorial on here and the backlight came on(didnt even know it had one), but no words on it, only 2 rows of white boxes. I very slowly turned the pot and still white boxes. After all the trials the LCD died completely, no more lights, boxes or anything, tried to wire it to power only but wont give signs of life. Did I forget anything from the other posts? Could the LED be defective(I got a cheap one from ebay, came without data sheet and the ebay page does not have one either)?

Btw no pics of code because I literally copied the one on the arduino tutorial(Ive checked and rechecked every letter, even deleted it and pasted it from the website)