LCD shield problem

I am trying to get a random number generator sketch to work on my LCD shield, I can get it working fine when on serial monitor but as soon as I try with the shield it doesnt talk to it I am really new to this so might be a simple error I just dont understand my sketch is
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

long randNumber;

byte buttonPin = 7; /Pin your button is connected to/

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(“Press Button…”);
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);

// if analog input pin 0 is unconnected, random analog
// noise will cause the call to randomSeed() to generate
// different seed numbers each time the sketch runs.
// randomSeed() will then shuffle the random function.
randomSeed(analogRead(0));
}

void loop() {
// print a random number from 100000 to 999999
randNumber = random(100000, 999999);
//Button will be continually checked
//once pressed, the program will enter this if statement
// and remain there until you release the button

if(digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW)
{
Serial.println(randNumber);

//Begin software debouncing
//Delay time wait between pushes
while(digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW) {}
delay(500);
}
}

I think the comment below might be a good clue.

// if analog input pin 0 is unconnected, random analog // noise will cause the call to randomSeed() to generate // different seed numbers each time the sketch runs. // randomSeed() will then shuffle the random function.

The shields I have used have Analog pin 0 used to get the keyboard input. Check your shield schematic, if your shield is connected this way, this method of getting a random seed won't work.

While you're checking the schematic, also make sure that pin 7 is not used by the shield. If it is, you may never be getting the initialization signal.

Hi Auds, and welcome.