LCD Trouble in Crystal Ball Project from Arduino Project Book

Hello, I’m new to Arduino and the Arduino forum. I just need a bit of help with my LCD that I received with my Arduino Projects Book. I’ll do my best to provide all the applicable information. Any help is appreciated.

My problem: I’ve wired up my LCD, tilt sensor, and POT and see no change in the display. It does not appear to be powered on, and the contrast doesn’t change when I turn the POT. The problem is not the code. I’ve used both my code and the example code provided in the Arduino IDE. There’s still no change.

At first I thought the problem was occurring because the pins on my LCD have different names than the LCD’s pins in the book. e.g The pin I connect to 5V is called VDD not VSS (which is what the book calls for.) After some research I found that the names are just different but the placement of my wiring should still be the same.

I’m wondering…Is my LCD just faulty? Or is it just a problem with my wiring? I’ve already tried rewiring and rewiring but my repetition hasn’t eliminated any error. Still there’s no visible reaction from the LCD. has anyone else had trouble with their LCD? This is just becoming troubling and I’d like to resolve the problem so I can move on to another project.

In the attachments I’ve placed a picture of the both the diagrams from the projects book as well as a picture of my own wiring for reference.
Thank you!

I’ve already tried rewiring and rewiring but my repetition hasn’t eliminated any error.

Try again. Disconnect everything and then reconnect things step by step.

(1) Connect the backlight circuitry (LCD pins 15 and 16) and get that working.

(2) Connect the power and contrast (LCD pins 1, 2, and 3). You should be able to adjust the potentiometer until you see a single row of rectangles. There’s no sense going any further if this doesn’t work.