Learning abot MOSFETs with iCircuit & LTSpice

Im tyring to get into my first solenoid project and I started learning about mosfets. I thought I understood BJTs until I ran into MOSFETs. Ive seen about 10 videos on youtube which are quite helpdul and so far I understand I need to choose my MOSFET correctly. I wanted to start with anything I had available but quickly realized I need a Logic Level MOSFET and I need to carefully wire my circuit with a fuse for the lead acid battery (12V) powering the 12V/2.5A or 12V/350mA valve options I have. I also would like to eventually use an optocoupler to separate the circuits just to be on the safe side. But for now I want to get a clearer picture of what happens in the circuit with a MOSFET when I apply the gate voltage.

So it was suggested I try to model it in LTSpice and iCircuit and Id like help making sure my setup is correct. Here is LTSpice and what Id like to know is how to make an analysis where I ramp up the voltage from 0-5V at the gate such that I can study the V and A at different points in the circuit:

Screenshot 2016-05-02 20.47.56.png

In iCircuit I have a setup like this:
Screenshot 2016-05-03 09.58.40.png

Marciokoko:
Id like to know is how to make an analysis where I ramp up the voltage from 0-5V at the gate such that I can study the V and A at different points in the circuit

Dare I say at this point, No, you don't want to ramp up the voltage at all.

The whole point (well, for me) is that MOSFETs provide a near zero resistance switch when fully turned on by the 5v gate (yes, good on you for realising you absolutely need Logic Level MOSFETs).

But if you partially switch on the MOSFET you will get a much higher resistance between Source & Drain which then means much more heat generated - thus negating the whole point (for me) of MOSFETs.

Anyway, partially switching on any transistor will limit the current flow not really adjust the voltage (other than by Ohms law).