Learning Arduino using atmega

I started learning arduino With out any prior knowledge in Micro controller and programming, and Without a help from the Forum people I should have abandoned the day i tried it.

The One of many good thing's in arduino board and IDE is its learning curve for complete newbie's like me.

One of the disadvantage[(?) or advantage (?) I don't know what to name it] of its IDE is doing very much make up for its instructions( i am not total against it because I don't know any other language except Arduino IDE language) But i think it is useful to know what is it doing behind that Magic.
I mean...what exactly does Arduino Functions like digitalWrite(), millis(), Serial.print()... and Many more Do on The behind calls and how the atmega controller respond to it.

So

1. I am still newbie... Is it better to learn how atmega controller responding to the arduino codes or should I stick to the arduino magic code or functions (I don't know what to call)?

2. how can i start ?.... By learning c++ programming or starting with atmega controller block diagram ? I don't know C when I started my tinkering with arduino except some addition or subtraction learned to qualify my college exams.. but Now I think I know(basic) some coding. If do you suggest me to learn atmega controller.. where do you want me to start? starting from Micro controller block diagram? or some other (I still don't know what)

3. is it possible to learn the atmega controller from arduino. if yes How?

4. any references to learn from scratch(i am afraid I am a slow learner I think I have to learn from very basic)....

The code for all the Arduino functions (such as millis() and digitalWrite() ) is included with the Arduino IDE so you can study it yourself to see how it is done.

The Atmel Atmega datasheets contain all the technical information about the Atmega MCUs, including their instruction set. There are links to download the datasheets on the various Arduino product pages.