LED and PWM

Hello Everybody

I am a complete newbie to Arduino and infact programming :P. I bought the starter kit and have been tinkering with it for quite sometime now and I have a basic question which has been puzzling me like anything.

I read about PWM and tried to replicate the dimming of a LED using arudino. The question I have is: What is the difference between the 2 codes I have written. I can clearly see the difference but not able to fully understand how it is actually happening.

1. Lighting a LED to full brightness
int led =2 ;

void setup {
pinMode(2,OUPUT);
}

void loop {
digitalWrite(led,HIGH);
delay(1);
digitalWrite(led,LOW);
delay(1);
}
  1. Lighting a LED ,dimmed
int led =2 ;

void setup {
pinMode(2,OUPUT);
}

void loop {
digitalWrite(led,HIGH);
delay(1);
digitalWrite(led,LOW);
}

Ok, after racking my brain I came to this conclusion: In the first case, the led is switched on at t=0 and then after being lit for 1 ms, it turns off and after 1 ms is turned on again and the cycle repeats. In the second case, the LED is lit at t=0 and then after being lit for 1 ms is turned off but since the delay is missing (as compared to the first case) and the loop repeats, it is again turned on quickly and thus this repeats. Attached is a voltage vs time graph for the two cases that I could draw.

I have no idea whether my reasoning is correct or not, but I still could not figure out how does the LED get dimmed. Although I understood PWM, but the fact that LED brightness could be controlled by limiting its time for lighting is something I cannot comprehend.

Would be glad to get any help on this. I am confused totally :confused: I am new to this, please be polite :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks!