LED and Resistors

Hello. I am considering purchasing an Arduino Duemilanove, but I have some general knowledge questions before it even gets here. To attach an LED to an I/O pin, should I use a resistor (If so, what kind?)? I know this makes me sound like a complete "noob", but I'm trying my best to learn how these things work ;). If you could answer as thoroughly as possible, (explaining the voltage output of the I/O pins, the tolerance of most LEDs, etc.) that would be great! :smiley:

yes you will need a resistor to drop voltage and more importantly restrict current

as to which one kinda depends on your LED's specs,

popping that data into a calculator (or just doing the math yourself) you can find out what you need to use

oh, output of the pins is 5v at a max 40ma and here is a decent looking link explaining led stuff

http://www.retrospieler.de/e-led-r.html

Thanks for the info! Looks like that helps quite a bit!

If you want the full low down on why to use resistors see:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Tutorial/LEDs.html

Here's a little secret: everyone here was a noob once upon a time. There are former noobs with good memories, and former noobs with bad memories.

Your question is a good one. It's far better than "I've never soldered two parts together before, and I want to build a self-balancing GPS-guided flying robot with image recognition using this DIP switch. I need someone to write my code for me". We mostly-noobs get a lot of benefit out of seeing the experts explain this stuff.

Quick and dirty for an indicator LED - 1k ohm. Won't damage anything and works for most LEDs on anything between 3V and 20V. If you're wanting the most light out, its a bit more complicated. V=IR or R = V/I

R is the resistor you're after.
V is the supply voltage less the forward voltage of the LED (in the spec sheet - typically between 1 and 3 volts).
I is the current you want to flow (in the spec sheet, 20mA is fairly typical, don't exceed the maximum).