LED and Switch Display Board

Hello, Im a newbie with the arduino board, so I'm still learning, and excuse my ignorance. Basically I'm trying to design a display board that will light a series of leds when a button is pushed and also will allow the computer to play a specific video. I think the hardware part i got, I'm going to wire the leds in parallel and use a 220 ohm resister between every three. The leds are 20mA and have a voltage of 2.4. then I would hook the series of leds up to a push button switch (spdt) I just want the button to turn on the leds and then and the video. I looked at the Shift example in tutorial and I decided to buy some CD4021BE shift registers for the buttons and just use that example to wire the thirteen buttons. My problem is getting the ocmputer to interface with the buttons. Is this setup even right? I'm thinking about using processing to play the individual videos but I'm lost with that aspect. Please help :'(

I'm thinking about using processing to play the individual videos but I'm lost with that aspect.

Have you looked at any of the Processing examples? Processing can interact with the serial port, and can play movies.

The Arduino can write to the serial port ("Play MovieA").

My problem is getting the ocmputer to interface with the buttons.

The what? The computer can not interface with the buttons. That's the Arduino's job. The Arduino can send data (information or commands) to the serial port that the computer can read.

The leds are 20mA and have a voltage of 2.4.

I don't think you've read the data sheet right. LEDs need current limiting resistors in series with them because they are NOT current limiting devices. An LED acts like a short circuit and will draw unlimited amperage, limited only by the ability of the power supply.

The leds are 20mA and have a voltage of 2.4

Maybe that should been "voltage DROP"?

See....

http://www.arunet.co.uk/tkboyd/ele1led.htm