LED Bar Graph Resistor

Hi,

I am very new to electronics and using the arduino to learn. I am going through an learning about the different components one by and I am attempting play with an LED bar graph based on the following instructions: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/BarGraph.

My quesiton is this: why are the placement of the resistors after the LED's and not before? From what I understood it was desirable to put a 220ohm resistor prior to LED's to prevent damage. This instruction set shows the resistor between the LED and ground.

Whether it's pin-to-resistor-to-LED-to-Gnd or pin-to-LED-to-resistor-to-Gnd makes no difference; it's a series circuit.

Thanks, after reading up a bit this makes a bit more sense - the order doesn't matter because the current will be the same for each component in the series... is this right? (for example, in the first tutorial in which an ED simply blinks, the resistor could have been before or after the LED?)

Follow-on question: when calculating the amount of current going through components connected to a pin, do you treat each digital pin as series connected in parallel to one another i.e each receiving 5v, which then in the mentioned schema means each pin has ~22mA of current flowing through it.

sorry, i know this is the most base-level questions, but i am trying to learn by tutorials and discussions online and without a sounding board for dum questions it is easy for a beginner to make assumptions :)

The only reason the LEDs and resistors are that way round is that an LED bargraph only fits in the middle of the breadboard because of gaps in the power rails every 5 contacts (you can’t physically plug it in with all the cathodes to ground) so the resistors are placed between cathodes and ground - the fritzing diagram doesn’t show this. Electrically the order is irrelevant.

The current through each LED is about 15mA, since red LED’s drop about 1.8V, so the resistors have 5 - 1.8 = 3.2V across them, 3.2/220 = 14.5mA.