LED Blinker/PC status indicator project

This is my first post and I am new to the Arduino products. I need advise on which product would best suit the project I am planning. I currently have a functioning project in Windows that detects a certain tray icon and toggles a modem control line on a serial port. This idea is a time-saver in that a PC condition of the user's/programmer's choice can be seen from across the room even when the screensaver is active. The current hardware consists of a DB-9 connector that has simply a wire pair, a current-limiting resistor, and an LED. When the modem control line is toggled, the LED blinks on and off. It's overkill because I'm not using any of the serial/parallel functionality of the UART. And these days most laptops do not have standard serial ports, so in order to make this work on new computers I need to find a USB solution. I'd like to find a USB board (with adequate software) that would support these things: Has a control line that supplies enough current to drive an LED (about 20 mA), and that would use plug-and-play to direct the host computer to a website, to download the host software to run the program, with no software initially required on the PC (launch IE and go to a website). Are there Arduino products that can do this, once the proper software is developed for it? Thanks - Greg

Yes any of the arduinos would do this for you.

However you don't even need that if you use a serial /USB bridge you can carry on using the hardware you have.

An old USB-to-parallel-printer adapter might do the job, but might not have enough oomph to drive LEDs.

Seems like this thing was made to order...