LED brightness control with one push button

Hello! I'm new in the arduino world and I want to start my first project. I want to make a push button to be a toggle for the led with a single press and if I hold it down for more than 2 seconds to start increasing the brightness with PWM as with potentiometer. And if I release the button and hold it again to switch the fading direction. Do you have any suggestions? And my second question is how can I make the program with Web interface to control it either with a push button and remote with a samrtphone/tablet?

I want to make a push button

Probably be far simpler to just buy one.

to be a toggle for the led with a single press and if I hold it down for more than 2 seconds to start increasing the brightness with PWM as with potentiometer.

Whoa, there, Nelly, slow down. You’ll bust a gut if you don’t breathe now and then.

Do you have any suggestions?

Look at the state change detection example. Examine how it determines that the switch has gone from not pressed to pressed, or from not pressed to pressed.

Those are events of interest. You’ll need to record when the change of interest happens. Then, you can make decisions based on how long between the events.

You have not described what you want to do in enough detail for anyone else to actually write the code. It’s one thing if the LED should toggle when the switch is pressed and released less than two seconds later, or should start fading if the switch is pressed and released more than two seconds later. It’s another thing if the LED should toggle when the switch is pressed, and should start fading if the release happens more than two seconds later. It’s a third thing if the LED should toggle when the switch is pressed, and fading should happen 2 seconds later if the switch is still pressed.

So, which of the three scenarios are you wanting to see happen?