LED Clothing Project

Hello Arduino Experts,

I am new to this realm, and I am working on a LED Clothing Project. I was wondering if you could provide some insight on a few questions for me.

I am trying to connect 10 LED strips (hyperlinked to product) together. Each LED strip will be have approximately 30 LED RGB lights, with each of the three colors maxing out at 20ma at full brightness, for a maximum total of 60ma (hyperlinked to specification) per light. I am wanting to create a portable “matrix” display (example shown) shirt with these LED strips, and I am trying to figure out the best way to design and power the circuit.

For the design, I am guessing I will need an Arduino Mega (linked) so that I can individually program all 300 lights? (Please confirm if this is the best option). For the circuit design, should I connect these strips to the power source in series, or in parallel? Do I have to worry about voltage drop, or additional resistors? I have taken some electrical engineering courses, but not enough to feel confident on the proper design for my project.

For the power source, since this is portable, I am wanting the display to last for about 5+ hours, if possible. Although the maximum draw is 60mA x 300 bulbs = 18000mA, I will realistically only have on a small number of these (in patterns) at less than full brightness. Let’s assume on average that half the lights are on and they are running at 25mA, so I will have an average draw of 20mA x 150 bulbs = 3000mA.

For my power source, what should I choose? The Mega requires 12V, but the LED lights require 5V. Do I have to use two separate power sources? Can I use a 15,000mAh 5V 2.1A/1.5A (example) battery pack? Or do I need to go with something like this 18,000mAh 12V 6A (example)? Would the 12V fry the LED strip?