Led countdown strip

Hey all,
I work as a middle school teacher and recently saw an amazing daily schedule that had a bar of LEDs to the side that would count down as the day progressed (image attached). This was on the side of a white board that allowed you to write the time and activity for students. I contacted the manufacturer, and unfortunately I do not have the $920 that their unit retails for (it's an assistive technology company so insurance usually pays) as I am a teacher. I would love to make a similar LED strip for my white board but have no experience with coding/arduinos. Any advice on where to get started would be greatly appreciated! I'll list what I'm looking for and my initial thoughts:
An easily adjustable countdown clock/timer paired with an led strip. For example, at 6 o clock I would like all 12 LEDs to be lit up, at 7 o clock 11 LEDs, and so on.
Small form factor - I plan on using magnets to mount the whole thing on my whiteboard.
Power supply would be a plug preferably.
The ability to change the time intervals using a dial would be great, but I'm not sure on the feasibility.

Materials:
WS2812 strips seem to be a good option for this project based on cost/function.
Adafruit 5v trinket - not sure if this would work for my needs, but the cost is very budget friendly and I like the idea of less wires.

If any part of my project or questions are unclear just let me know.

Hi cocopufft,

This is definitely a very feasible and fun project.
In the case of your project i would probably just go for an adruino UNO.
It is the base model and can make your life a bit easier (especialy if you want to tinker around a bit before finalising your solution).
Also there are a lot of options for LED strips.
I would advice to an LED which is digitally controlled (like the WS2812 you suggested)
This means that you can "talk" to the individual LED's in the strip using the arduino.
Which in turn makes sure you don't have to run a wire from the arduino to every LED.