LED Dimmer by receiving a one off serial value (solved)

Hello,

I am fairly new to the arduino enviroment and would really appreceate some help XD

Basically I have modified the PhysicalPixel example in attempt to get it to change the bightness of an LED when a value 1 to 255 is sent to the arduino through serial monitor, which will eventually be a VB program. However when I send a value through the serial monitor the led lights up to around 1/2 brightness regardless of the value and stays the same brightness dispite new values being sent to the arduino :(

I know I'm doing somthing wrong, prehaps my method of thinking?

Here is the code:

const int ledPin = 9; // the pin that the LED is attached to
int incomingByte;      // a variable to read incoming serial data into

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // initialize the LED pin as an output:
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  // see if there's incoming serial data:
  if (Serial.available() > 0) {
    // read the oldest byte in the serial buffer:
    incomingByte = Serial.read();
    // Write value 1-255 to LED (controlling brightness):
    analogWrite(ledPin, incomingByte);
    }
  }

Could anyone point me in the right direction to help me acheive what I intended?

Thanks in advance!

Basically I have modified the PhysicalPixel example in attempt to get it to change the bightness of an LED when a value 1 to 255 is sent to the arduino through serial monitor, which will eventually be a VB program. However when I send a value through the serial monitor the led lights up to around 1/2 brightness regardless of the value and stays the same brightness dispite new values being sent to the arduino

When you type a value like 69 in the serial monitor, and press send, what gets sent to the Arduino is '6', '9', and maybe, depending on settings, '\n' and/or '\r'.