LED Drivers MAX7219 or MAX7221

I am currently in the process of building an Aruinome and am confused on which LED driver[integrated circuit resistor] to use.
How would I figure out which is my best choice the MAX7219 or the MAX7221

http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/MAX72XXHardware#SelectProduct

yes I have gone to that page.does it then matter what type of LED and/or amount of LEDs (64 being the max) I use?

you need common cathode LEDs. 20ma per LED seems good. read the last few paragraphs there, they talk about power comnsumption

Right on, thanks your very much for the help sirbow2

Sirbow2 you mentioned common cathode LEDs. How does that apply to single color LEDs that have both a cathode and an anode lead? In comparison to RGB LEDs that you can either get in common cathode or anode. sorry if I am asking beginner questions this is my first project.

dunno really, but i just know that if its common cathode, you connect the cathode to ground, and then you need a resistor and 5v or whatever on (all) the anode(s). common anode, you hook the anode to 5v, and then use a resistor on each of the cathodes to ground.

just to clarify as CrossRoads says below; this is just for a single LED and is no way related to using a 7219

If you are buying a 8x8 LED Matrix to use with a 7219/7221, you should use a common cathode matrix.
If you are buying discrete LEDs, it doesn't matter. And current is controlled by a single resistor on a 7219/7221 pin.

sirbow2's description is not correct for using parts with the 7219/7221, where the chip controls both the anode and the cathode of the LEDs.

CrossRoads
I am trying to build an 8x8 LED matrix to use with the 7219/7221, and am trying to figure out what type of LEDs to purchase as well as which integrated circuit resistor to use.

Purchase the color & brightness you want. You can get 20mA LEDs that are 30mCd and you can get 20mA LEDs that are 15,000mCd.