LED fading in with capacitance sensor

I am very new to Arduinos and coding so bare with me.

I am trying to create a circuit where the LED gradually increases in brightness as the user's hand approaches it.

I have created a capacitance sensor and have managed to get the LED to go on and off, I was just wondering how I can make it more of a 'fade' or will I achieve this effect just by upping the resistance?

At the moment I am using 1Mohm resistor and my threshold is very low so the LED turns on when the hand is approx 10cm away from the sensor, there is however a lot of flicker which I'd prefer to get rid of? Will a capacitor do the trick here?

Thank you for your help

Oliver

Thanks for the video, that's really informative, but I want to use a capacitive sensor that i've already made, not a photosensitive resistor (as it will ultimately be beneath an insulating surface.

What parts of the code would I need to change to make it apply to my circuit?

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hi,

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png or pdf?

Can you please post a copy of your sketch, using code tags?
Please use code tags.. See section 7 http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

Hope to help..Tom.... :slight_smile:

At the moment, I’m pretty much following any tutorials I have found, so this is an amalgamation of touch capacitance code for an LED and some fade code. But as I’m a beginner it’s probably not quite right, as I’ve pretty much just played around putting it in different places until I get my (almost desired effect).

As you can see I’m not very confident with this whole process haha

My code is below and regarding the circuit I’m not quite sure how I’d draw it but it’s just the standard LED touch capacitor circuit, with a 1Mega Ohm resistor connected to pin 2, and my capacitive sensor (foil) and the other end going to pin 4, and my led coming from pin 11 to ground.