LED Hyperspace background for wooden Star Wars build

First let me apologize if this should go in project guidance. My question is very LED-specific so I thought this was more appropriate (feel free to correct me). To understand the question will require a little setup, so I won’t blame you for ignoring this.

Second, this question is for anyone who likes Star Wars, knows a thing or two about Arduinos/LEDs and wouldn’t mind throwing any relevant opinions at me.

Third, I’m a total noob at Arduinos/coding, so again, apologies. I did figure out the Adafruit soundboard so that’s something!

Okay - the setup: For the past 5 weeks I’ve been building a wooden 3D(ish) “intarsia” artwork of Han and Chewie in the Millennium Falcon. You can see the idea on my instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/p/B32Ksu_AJDo/. Or see attached image of unfinished piece. The entire build has been documented in my stories, highlighted on my profile. It basically uses dozens of wood species and a couple hundred pieces, cut to fit together.

The wooden background has star trails cut out (by hand with a scrollsaw) and filled with epoxy resin. I currently have some Phillips Hue strip lights set up behind it. But I’m going to switch them out for an Arduino Uno R3/Adafruit DotStar 60/m combination. I’m playing with the Arduino now and expect the LEDs on Wednesday. (I also already have a soundboard, speakers, and a bunch of sounds wired up to use buttons on the falcon dashboard).

So here’s the idea - I would like to cut up the DotStar strip so that there are several mini-strips radiating from the center. I’d like to then program them to go blue-cyan-white-cyan-blue, in a streak similar to what you see when they enter hyperspace. I would also like the ministrips to be slightly staggered in timing to give the impression of movement and depth (though if they have to move at the same time, I think it would still look cool). My question is how best to handle this.