LED into a sphere (feseable?)

Dear Arduino community,

I am really new to Arduino, but I am planning to use it for experimental purposes.

What I would like to know is if what I want to do is feasible, and maybe get some suggestions on how to do it. I already looked at different tutorials, but still, I am not completely sure.

In the experiment I am planning, a transparent sphere/ball (5cm diameter) is on the table. A LED is in it, and when the LED turns to a specific color the participant has to perform a task, i.e. touch the sphere and lift it of 1cm (more or less).

I am designing now the sphere with the specificities I would need. But what about the LED, how can I put it into such a small sphere? What equipment also?

Furthermore, I hope it is possible to program with Python when to turn the LED on and to what color, but this should be feasible.

One more thing: the sphere will be more or less at 50cm from the participant. So the LED(s) has to be quite strong be visible at such a distance, in a room what will NOT be dark.

I hope you can help me :slight_smile:

how can I put it into such a small sphere?

A solid sphere? A hollow sphere? LED only? Or LED, power source, and Arduino?

I am attaching an image of the sphere (prototype yet). For illustration purposes, it is blue here, but it is gonna be transparent. It is empty inside. One hole, one of those at the bottom could be used to make the LED go into the sphere.

For what concerns the other features of the setup (LED only or power source as well), I do not know. I mean, the one that fits the best.

Screenshot_2019-04-11_14-11-26.png

If that's a 50 mm sphere getting an LED in there is the easy part. You can stuff a couple dozen LEDs in there. You can find toy balls that will flicker in all kinds of colours when bounced off the ground that would easily fit in there.