LED Issues

I bought two LEDs from Home Depot, one was a 3watt 3.7v LED and another was a 'garden' 12v LED light.

I noticed with a PWM enabled on the Arduino, I was able to get the 3watt 3.7v LED to work just fine. The garden light had no chance, it did not want to light up at all, not even on the Vout of the arduino (5v).

it was not until I plugged in a 6v lantern battery, where it lit up completely. So to me, it sounds like some LEDs don't have the ability to dim? (I'm new to the whole LED thing). I tried doing the whole DAC thing as well using a low pass filter to ensure that it wasn't a PWM issue with the garden light.

What I'm trying to do is enable these LEDs to dim but I need some nice lumen output, can anyone make any recommednations for me, for dimmable LEDs if not all LEDs are in fact dimmable? Something preferably I can nab at Lowes or Home Depot...

Without knowing anything at all about the LEDs, how you connected them, etc. there’s not much people can do to help.

RET80:
I bought two LEDs from Home Depot, one was a 3watt 3.7v LED and another was a ‘garden’ 12v LED light.

The garden light had no chance, it did not want to light up at all, not even on the Vout of the arduino (5v).

The clue might be in the “12V” part of “12v LED light”…

fungus: Without knowing anything at all about the LEDs, how you connected them, etc. there's not much people can do to help.

RET80: I bought two LEDs from Home Depot, one was a 3watt 3.7v LED and another was a 'garden' 12v LED light.

The garden light had no chance, it did not want to light up at all, not even on the Vout of the arduino (5v).

The clue might be in the "12V" part of "12v LED light"...

Well if that's the case, why did it work just fine with a 6v lantern battery, but not a 5v arduino. Unless it has a cutoff voltage, either completely on or completely off.

RET80:

fungus: The clue might be in the "12V" part of "12v LED light"...