LED Mask Help?

Hey guys I'm new to working with LEDs but I randomly decided this would be my halloween costume. Please help me electronics or otherwise on what I would need to pull this off down to the amount of LEDs and stuff like that I would need. If you have the time some instructions or a diagram would be great. And(for lack of a better term) please put your responses in "dumbed-down" talk. Thanks.

PS If you dont think arduino would work well but you have other ideas let me know.

I removed your post from LEDs and Multiplexing. On this forum, cross-posting is counter productive. If you feel your thread is not getting a good response here let a moderator know and they will move it to another section.

[quote author=Coding Badly link=topic=269991.msg1902967#msg1902967 date=1412126875]

I removed your post from LEDs and Multiplexing. On this forum, cross-posting is counter productive. If you feel your thread is not getting a good response here let a moderator know and they will move it to another section.

[/quote] OK Thanks

the amount of LEDs and stuff

Its totally dependent on how you want this to look

If you look at the photos, and want to completely copy what they have

Work out which groups of LED's are turned on and off in each picture

e.g as far as I can see each eye has 3 strips of LED's, two at angles and one vertically down

The mouth appears to be 1 long horizontal strip and 2 individual leds at each corner of the mouth (which appear to come on at the same time)

i.e with the mouth you can make a flat shape or a sort of smile

You may want to add different LEDS to make a sad face mouth

Once you have mapped out all the facial expressions you want, and know how many groups of LEDS you need and how many LEDs in each group, you can then plan the hardware you need

I suspect a Uno would have enough outputs, but you will need LED drivers e.g. a FET for each group as the Arduino can only power one LED per output line

rogerClark: