Led matrix Power issue

Hi

Im new to Arduino and im having a bit of trouble with my 8x8 LED matrix.
Im using a breadboard power supply unit to supply the power to the LED matrix. when I flip the switch the entire matrix lights up. However The program only sets one led to HIGH. Everything works fine if I use the Arduino board to power it. is there something else im meant to do if I use a separate power supply ?

What type of matrix are you talking about?
How is this wired up?

Have you connected the ground of the power supply to the ground of the Arduino.

Hi everyone

I'm quite new to Arduino and im having some trouble with my breadboard power supply. When I use it to power my joystick module it gives random readings. I also tried using it to power an LED matrix. it just sets all led's high and doesn't respond to the program.

Is there something else I need to do when using a breadboard power supply to make it work properly ?

Yes, get a bigger one preferably with voltage and current meters. I have no clue as to what you have or doing however each of the things you have connected draw power of which you have a finite supply. I have seen this before when the supply voltage drops to low. There is also a phenomena of feed back via the power supply.
Good Luck & Have Fun!
Gil

You haven't told us anything of value in solving the issue. You might as well be talking to a wall for all we can do.

1. vendor link for power supply
  2. Schematic of led matrixcircuit
    (handrawn on blank sheet of printer paper
    photographed and uploaded)
  3. closeup photo of power supply
  4. Describe your electronics experience
  5. do you have a multimeter ?
  6. power supplies don't "give readings"
    They just supply power.
    be specific . What kind of reading ?
    Obtained how ?
  7. There is no such thing as a "breadboard power
    supply" , with one exception: Many years ago
    they sold a metal box with a triple power supply
    built in and a breadboard mounted on top.