Led on

Hi everyone, I am very new in this, and Im looking for some help. I have a code to turn on a led with a distance sensor; it works great, but the thing is that the led turns of as soon as I move my hand away from the sensor, but I need that the led turns on after the sensor detecs an object or whatever, and to remain on for a few seconds even if there is nothing in front of the sensor.

This is the code I use:

const int signalPin= 0; //yellow wire connects to analog pin A0 const int LEDPin= 13; //LED connects to digital pin 13 int signal;//this variable, signal, will hold the analog value read by the arduino

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); //sets the baud rate for data transfer in bits/second pinMode(signalPin, INPUT); //the infrared sensor signal line will be an input to the arduino pinMode(LEDPin, OUTPUT); //the LED serves an output in the circuit }

void loop() { signal= analogRead(signalPin); //arduino reads the value from the infrared sensor Serial.println(signal); //prints out analog value delay(500); //delays the next analog reading by 500 ms or a half a second

if(signal > 200){ //if the analog value is less than 200, the object is within a few inches digitalWrite(LEDPin, HIGH); } else{ digitalWrite(LEDPin, LOW); } }

I hope someone can help me. Thanks in advance.

Please use code tags. Use the </> icon in the posting menu. [code] Paste sketch here. [/code]
Use CTRL T to format your sketches.

The placement of delay() is important to delay events, and delay(500); is only 1/2 a second.

Time to look a using the BlinkWithoutDelay example to avoid delay().

It can help to work first in "pseudo-code"... someting closer to the language you've used til now...

setup()

{various stuff... including... Turn LED off }

Loop...

if sensor sees hand... then....

{ Turn LED on wait 2 seconds Turn LED off }